CHARTER TO A

Iowa FFA Association

The FFA Mission FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.

FFA Enrichment Center 1055 SW Prairie Trail Parkway Ankeny, IA 50023 Contact: Scott Johnson (712.790.2345) www.iowaffa.com

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

2014 IOWA FFA DISCUSSION MEET CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT 86th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Discussion Meet Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Tuesday, April 29, 2014. Eight individuals participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place individual for the event was Natalie Hanson from the LaPorte-Dysart FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Louis Beck. The second place individual for the event was Elijah Kautz from the LaPorte-Dysart FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Louis Beck.

Participants of the Ag Discussion Meet were responsible to exchange ideas and information in an effort to solve problems inherent in the topics. Students had to take a problem or need and work through all options, while testing and implementing new ideas. The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, through the Iowa FFA Foundation, sponsored this year's event.

The Iowa FFA Association has 219 local chapters with 14,200 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 580,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science, business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career

success through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Discussion Meet Leadership Event.

Plac 1	e FFA Member Name(s) Natalie Hanson	Chapter P. O. LaPorte City	Rating Gold
2	Elijah Kautz	LaPorte City	Gold
3	Cody Cripe	Fairbank	Gold
	Nick Boehm	West Union	Gold
	Marissa Donahue	Coon Rapids	Silver
	Brooke Miller	Fairbank	Silver
	Jessica Menke	Sloan	Silver
	Aaron Montag	West Bend	Bronze

#####

Iowa FFA Association -- 3

Iowa FFA Association -- 4